Kabbalistic Diagram, Late 17th– early 18th century,  Artist Unknown,  Pen and ink on parchment, Courtesy of the Lehmann Family Collection 

Kabbalah is Jewish mysticism, particularly one that discloses the inner workings of divinity, and the channels through which God descends towards His Creation and pious souls ascend towards their Maker. The key to this redemptive process is the ten sefirot, the divine potencies unfolding from the Infinite and unknowable side of God to His Presence, manifested through knowable attributes such as Wisdom, Majesty, Beauty, Justice, and Love. In revealing this secret knowledge, Kabbalists sought to encourage the meticulous observance of Jewish Law, which restores the world to its proper order. The Hebrew word sefirah has no ready translation, being a medieval term coined to suggest both number and narrative. Telling God’s story is simultaneously enumerating the sefirot, tracing the ten-fold pattern that regulates existence. In that sacred calculus, each of the ten sefirot corresponds to certain scriptural figures, divine names, colors, and moments in the liturgical calendar. The sefirot are further mapped onto the human body, which is made in the divine image, and through which one can perform righteous deeds, helping to repair the cosmos. While much of the dense vocabulary of kabbalistic symbolism was articulated in texts, visual traditions also developed. Diagrams of the ten sefirot are known as ilanot, or “Trees of Life.” Therein, divine potencies are arranged in geometric clusters, branching out to the right and left, delineating the configurations through which blessings flow down into the world, and return back to their source in God. As Kabbalah became more popular and public, sefirotic trees proliferated into “cosmological forests,” making visible the divine structures sustaining the universe.

Gregory Spinner



your views


average visit

1107770m 38s

last visit